Originally built 1468, the cathedral sustained much damage in WWII and reconstruction efforts lasted until 1994. Today it is a symbol of Munich and its two towers ( 99 m and 100 m) are easy to see from anywhere in the city. It is a Catholic church, the religion of most Bavarians.
Legend has it that the architect, Jörg von Halspach, was challenged by the devil to create a cathedral without windows. Halspach accepted the challenge and when the church was finished he let the devil take a look of the “windowless” church that he had built. The devil, being beaten, stamped his foot on the floor and left in a rage. The footprint marks the spot where not one side window can be seen inside the church. Take one step forward and you can see the many windows that light up the church.
There are graves of 30 members of the House of Wittelsbach, including famous Ludwig II of Bavaria.
In the back of the church is the grave of another Wittelsbach – Louis IV , Holy Roman Emperor, who died in 1348 after suffering stroke. His grave is the large, black, ornate tomb.
The elevator goes atop of the Southern tower, from where one can see a stupendous view of the city.
The lift works 10.00-17.00 Apr – Sep.